Moroccan Carrot Salad

Wow! It has been quite crazy over the past 18 months and thus my little blog got ignored!

Eat Pray Live Love was a little side project that I started to keep myself busy amidst the thousand other things that I was doing at the time. However, life took over and this little project fell by the wayside. However I think it’s time to get back into it.

So last November I went on a little summer holiday to Palm Cove up in Tropical North Queensland. It was absolutely amazing and I’m dying to go back. It was stinking hot and terribly humid but to open my apartment door and be on the beach was simply beautiful. I really think I could live there one day.

Well, today I’m excited to share with you a little salad recipe inspired from one of my favourite places in the world – Morocco! This is super healthy, clean and paleo friendly and is packed full of flavour! It’s so so easy to prepare and pop in the fridge ready to serve with lunch, dinner or nuzzle into it as a meal on its own.  I usually serve this with lamb or chicken and occasionally eat it on its own.

MOROCCAN CARROT SALAD | Serves 4 (if you’re lucky – yes it’s that good!)

Ingredients
4-5 Large carrots peeled and shredded (one carrot per person)
2 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 a fresh lemon
1/2 a fresh lime
1/4 cup of roasted sliced almonds (roast them in the oven or pan)
2 tablespoon fresh chopped cilantro
1 teaspoon paprika
Sea Salt to taste

Method
1. Wash, Peel and Shred carrots in to a serving bowl.
2. Place sliced almonds on a shallow oven tray and into an oven at 150 degrees Celsius. Alternatively they can be placed in a pan on a stovetop. Either way they roast quite quickly so be sure to watch them closely. Take off heat one ready and allow to cool.
3. Wash, dry and chop cilantro and place 3/4 in bowl with the carrots.
4. In a ramekin place olive oil, lemon juice, lime juice, paprika and salt and mix well.
5. Add cooled almonds and dressing and mix well.
6. Top with remaining cilantro and pop in the fridge for 10 minutes or until ready to serve.

*optional extra: add some raisins if you love something a little sweet.

Enjoy! Xx

FullSizeRender
IMG_0830

4 thoughts on “Moroccan Carrot Salad

    • Haha! Yes I love simple ingredients that everyone will have in their fridge and pantry and creating something delicious and possibly fancy 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by K and I hope you get a chance to try the dish one day Xx

Leave a comment